HO Scale Diorama & Christmas Village

Late for the Party

2 responses

  1. wow! how did you do the bricked road? is so detail and beautiful!

    June 27, 2013 at 6:14 pm

    • Hi,there! I constructed the current (permanent) set up several years ago. Before that, I broke it down and set it up on a large plywood sheet every Christmas.

      I tried several commercial plastic “snow” products for Christmas villages. Most had flakes that were far two large for HO scale. What I ended up with is “Polar Ice” Snow Crystal by Rauch Industries, Inc., Gastonia, N.C. I’ve hoarded several bags in case it is discontinued, and use so little, it should last some time. I hope they still manufacture it. It may have a larger flake here and there, but it’s much finer texture than most.

      I found several sources for backgrounds and accessories online, and the streets and sidewalks are printed cardboard which I cut and laid before the blocks were installed. I mixed paint to age them. I drew the trolley tracks with a metallic pen, and added shadows and dirt with paint. It’s all one dimensional.

      It’s been years since I’ve bought these products. I hope they’re still available Most of what I used would be totally unacceptable to a serious model railroader, but I’m not that serious. 😉

      June 28, 2013 at 12:27 pm

Leave a Reply

