HO Scale Diorama & Christmas Village

Mrs. Sabin takes little Daisy for an Afternoon Stroll

mama_baby_carriage_2

I am pleased with how this scene turned out. I have been unable to find a vintage baby carriage, so purchased a modern mother and child (Preiser brand), and set about making the carriage look more vintage. Many baby carriages in the early 1900’s were wicker. Most had two large wheels and two small wheels, or all four large. All I could do was paint the inner carriage to look like wicker.  The baby is really a toddler, so I had to determine whether it would be a boy or a girl. You can’t see the detail in this photo, but I gave her white fur trim on her coat, and black boots. I love the peacefulness of this scene.

Below is a photo of the original mother and child in the box, and one of the real Daisy Sabin on her sister Mary’s lap, around 1875.

mom_child_modern

Modern Mom and Baby

 

Mary_Daisy

Mary and Daisy

 

5 responses

  1. The town is beautiful! I love how you made the story line mix with real people. You have done a fabulous job.

    November 7, 2014 at 7:43 am

  2. Thanks, Colleen!

    November 8, 2014 at 9:37 pm

  3. where do you typically find you vintage people?

    November 14, 2014 at 8:38 pm

    • Hi, Jennifer. When I first began collecting, there was a local model train store that carried all of the Preiser vintage horses and carriages, and some of the vintage theme figures. It is an expensive hobby, but always has been fun. That store was bought out, and they never carried any of the Preiser figures. Most of the big mail order vendors also have ebay stores, so when I’m looking for something new, I’ll usually start with ebay. If you do a Google search, you’ll find plenty of online stores for HO scale figures and background accessories. As for vintage, I have triplicates of almost every vintage Preiser figure. New modern figures come out every year, but the vintage figures are not popular with model train people. It’s increasingly difficult to find anything new to add, or adapt, for Oak Valley, but I usually can find one or two new people or features each season. It is a permanent display, so I enjoy it all year. On a gloomy day, it’s cheerful sight.

      November 14, 2014 at 9:15 pm

      • Thank you so much. I do miniature photography- typically with HO scale figures. The nice train stores around here closed down. I use hobby linc and occasionally ebay, but as you said, it’s much easier to find modern figures than vintage. I’ve been wanting to do a vintage photo series though, so I guess it’s time I scour ebay 🙂

        November 14, 2014 at 9:20 pm

Leave a Reply

